Accessibility Tools

About Us

Our History

Malta is subdivided into 6 regions. The Regional Level of Government is relatively young as a system of governance in Malta. Six Regional Councils were established and set-up through the amendment of the Local Councils Act in 2019 which established the Southern (Nofsinhar) Regional Council as one of the 6 Regional Councils of the Maltese Islands.

The functions of the Regional Councils are established by the Ministry for the National Heritage, Arts and Local Government in the form of regulations following consultation with the Local Councils Association.

Each region has a Regional Council, which consists of a Regional President, a Deputy President, an Executive Secretary and between 10 and 12 members.

Reġjun Nofsinhar is composed of twelve Local Councils – Ħal Qormi, Iz-Zejtun, Birżebbuġa, Ħal Għaxaq, Il-Gudja, Ħal Luqa, Il-Ħamrun, Il-Marsa, Marsaxlokk, Marsascala, Santa Venera, Santa Luċija.

The Regional Council is composed by the mayor of each locality. The council is presided by the President Mr. Jesmond Aquilina. Dr Sarah Maria Vella occupies the post of Deputy President.

The Administration Office of the Southern Region is situated in Ħal Qormi. The Regional Tribunal is part of the administration building.





Our Mission

Manage our resources wisely and work effectively so that we can provide a professional service to the Local Councils and communities within the Southern Region. We believe that when we work together as a team, we are able to reach common goals and objectives, with the intention of making a difference in the lives of the residents in our communities.


Waste management services coordination

Social impact assessment and research

Professional assistance to local councils

Assistance on EU funded programmes and projects

Coordination with Ministries, Departments and Government Entities

Coordination with local councils on sports, physical and wellbeing activities

Providing views on local planning

Southern Regional

Council Members

Jesmond Aquilina


Marija Sara Vella

Deputy President


Josef Masini Vento

(Ħal Qormi)

Doris Abela


Scott Camilleri


John Schembri

(Ħal Luqa)

Darren Abela

(Ħal Għaxaq)

Marija Sara Vella


Christian Sammut


Mario Calleja


Josef Azzopardi


Steven Grech


Charmaine St. John

(Santa Luċija)

Stephen Sultana

(Santa Venera)


Mariella Strout

Acting Executive Secretary